Skip to main content

About Committees

Constitutional Committees

The four Constitutional Committees of the Student Government Board—Allocations, Communications, Judicial, and Elections—each play an important role in the operation of student government and the assurance of a system of checks and balances. Constitutional Committees are the only committees within the Student Government that do not have open membership, meaning students must apply, interview, and be appointed to any of the four Constitutional Committees.

Cabinet Committees

The seven Cabinet Committees of the Student Government Board—Academic Affairs, Community and Governmental Relations, Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion, Facilities, Transportation, and Technology, First Year, Support, Advocacy, and Prevention, and Wellness—all work to further the initiative goals of the organizations. In order to encourage collaboration across special interest areas the chairs of each committee meet with the Chief of Staff once a week for a Cabinet planning session. The Chief of Staff is appointed by the President.

Student Office of Sustainability

The Student Office of Sustainability (SOOS) fosters environmental awareness throughout the Pitt community. The goal of the office is to support the potential of students to creatively revolutionize the way the Pitt community approaches environmental and social justice, and inspire conversations about building a sustainable future. The SOOS appoints an SGB liaison to sit on our cabinet to facilitate communication and collaboration between our organizations.